10 Popular Cybersecurity Certifications 2024


Stay ahead in the cybersecurity field with these 10 popular certifications in 2024

While a bachelor’s degree in computer science is common among cybersecurity professionals, cybersecurity certifications can provide an edge. Many options, including vendor-specific and entry to advanced levels, are available. When selecting a certification, aim for one that boosts your career prospects. If you’re new to cybersecurity, consider the Google IT Support Professional Certificate. It offers job-ready skills in under six months and provides a shareable certificate from an industry leader. These certifications not only validate your knowledge and skills but also open doors to exciting career opportunities. In this article, we’ll explore the top 10 popular cybersecurity certifications for 2023.

1. Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)

CISSP is a globally recognized certification offered by (ISC). It’s designed for experienced security practitioners, managers, and executives. CISSP covers a wide range of cybersecurity topics, including security and risk management, asset security, security architecture and engineering, communication and network security, identity and access management, security assessment and testing, security operations, and software development security.

2. Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH)

CEH, provided by the EC-Council, is ideal for professionals who want to gain insight into the mindset of malicious hackers. This certification equips you with the knowledge and skills to identify and address vulnerabilities in computer systems and networks. CEH covers areas like ethical hacking, footprinting and reconnaissance, scanning networks, enumeration, system hacking, malware threats, and more.

3. Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)

CISM, offered by ISACA, is tailored for individuals engaged in managing an enterprise’s information security program. It focuses on information risk management, information security governance, information security incident management, and information security program development and management. CISM certification demonstrates your ability to manage and oversee an enterprise’s information security.

4. Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)

Another renowned certification from ISACA, CISA, is designed for professionals responsible for auditing, control, and assurance of an organization’s information systems. It covers topics such as information system auditing, governance and management, acquisition, development and implementation, and information systems operations and maintenance.

5. CompTIA Security+

Security+ is a vendor-neutral certification that provides a strong foundation in cybersecurity principles and practices. It’s ideal for beginners looking to start a career in cybersecurity. CompTIA Security+ covers network security, compliance and operational security, threats and vulnerabilities, application, data, and host security, access control and identity management, and cryptography.

6. Cisco Certified Network Associate Security (CCNA Security)

CCNA Security, offered by Cisco, is an associate-level certification focusing on network security. It’s suitable for individuals who want to secure Cisco networks. Topics covered include security concepts, secure access, VPN encryption, firewalls, intrusion prevention, endpoint security, and secure routing and switching.

7. Certified Cloud Security Professional (CCSP)

CCSP, also offered by (ISC)², is aimed at professionals responsible for managing and securing cloud environments. It covers cloud concepts, architecture, governance, risk management, compliance, and legal issues. CCSP certification demonstrates your expertise in cloud security.

8. Certified Information Security Management System (ISMS) Lead Auditor

This certification, provided by PECB, focuses on auditing an ISMS based on ISO/IEC 27001. It’s intended for professionals who want to become proficient ISMS auditors. Topics include ISMS audit fundamentals, principles, processes, and management.

9. Offensive Security Certified Professional (OSCP)

OSCP, offered by Offensive Security, is for individuals looking to become proficient penetration testers and ethical hackers. It’s known for its rigorous hands-on exam, which requires you to exploit vulnerabilities in a controlled environment. OSCP certification demonstrates practical penetration testing skills.

10. GIAC Security Essentials (GSEC)

GSEC, from the Global Information Assurance Certification (GIAC), is designed for professionals who want to demonstrate their knowledge of information security concepts and practices. Topics include access controls, cryptography, risk management, security policy and procedures, and network security

Categories: Uncategorized

1 Comment

A WordPress Commenter · October 9, 2023 at 2:00 am

Hi, this is a comment.
To get started with moderating, editing, and deleting comments, please visit the Comments screen in the dashboard.
Commenter avatars come from Gravatar.

Leave a Reply

Avatar placeholder

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Open chat
How can we help you ?